Foresight Nanotech Institute Logo

« Go Back

You are viewing
Foresight Archives

Image of nano

Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology Won by Georgia Tech, HP Labs, UCLA

Huge Payoffs Expected from Building at Molecular Level

Palo Alto, CaliforniaNanotechnology's highest honors for the year 2000 have been awarded to researchers at Georgia Tech, HP Labs, and UCLA for major advances in the ability to build useful devices and structures with atomic precision. Two Prizes are given annually, one for theoretical work and one for experimental achievement.

Georgia Tech physicist Uzi Landman won this year's Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theoretical) for his pioneering work in computational materials science for nanostructures. Such computer modeling provides deep insights into the nature and properties of matter at the nanoscale, and is essential in predicting what could be built at the molecular level, reducing time spent on expensive "wet" lab experiments.

The Experimental Prize went to the multidisciplinary team of chemist R. Stanley Williams and computer scientist Philip Kuekes, both of HP Labs in Palo Alto, along with chemist James Heath of UCLA. They were cited for building a molecular switch, a major step toward their long-term goal of building entire memory chips that are just a hundred nanometers wide, smaller than a bacterium.

The Prizes were given at the 8th Foresight Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology, held this year in Bethesda, Maryland with a record international turnout of over 400 nanotechnology researchers and funders including numerous venture capital firms, a first for this budding industry.

Foresight chairman Eric Drexler commented, "We're seeing the start of a ramp-up in nanotechnology funding, from both public and private sources. The technical path is immensely challenging but should yield tremendous long-term payoffs in medicine, transportation, and the environment."

The Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology is named in honor of the late Nobel physicist Richard Feynman, whose visionary talk in 1959 continues to inspire today's nanotechnology R&D community.

Also awarded was the first Foresight Prize in Communication, going to Senior Correspondent Ron Dagani of Chemical & Engineering News, the weekly newsmagazine of the American Chemical Society.

Harvard graduate student Christopher Love took top student honors this year, winning the Foresight Distinguished Student Award for his work in architectures for molecular electronic computers and nanomanipulation of structures on surfaces.

Relevant URLs:

For further information and photos, contact:

  • Foresight Institute, Christine Peterson, (650) 917-1122
  • Georgia Tech, John Toon, (404) 894-6986
  • HP Labs, Dave Berman, (650) 857-7277
  • UCLA, Harlan Lebo, (310) 206-0510



Foresight Programs


Home About Foresight Blog News & Events Roadmap About Nanotechnology Resources Facebook Contact Privacy Policy

Foresight materials on the Web are ©1986–2019 Foresight Institute. All rights reserved. Legal Notices.

Web site developed by Stephan Spencer and Netconcepts; maintained by James B. Lewis Enterprises.