2000 Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award

for the college undergraduate or graduate student
whose work in nanotechnology is deemed most notable

Nominations are due by September 22, 2000

2000 Winner Announced

The Foresight Distinguished Student Award was won by Christopher Love, a PhD candidate in Harvard’s Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology. Mr. Love was selected for his work in architectures for molecular electronic computers and nanomanipulation of structures on surfaces. He has contributed to nanotechnology research for seven years at three major U.S. research laboratories, starting in MITRE’s Nanosystems Group at age 16.

Accepting Nominations for the 2000 Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award

$1500 grant

The Foresight Institute Distinguished Student award provides a $1500 grant to the college graduate or undergraduate student whose work is deemed most notable in advancing the development and understanding of nanotechnology. The award will be presented at the 2000 Foresight Institute Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology, held November 3-5, 2000, in Bethesda, Maryland. The winner will be selected by Neil Jacobstein, Chairman of the Institute for Molecular Manufacturing, with consultation from the Foresight Board of Directors.

Nominations due by September 22th

Please send in your nominations to the Foresight Institute to arrive by September 22th. Nominations should include name, educational institution, mailing address, telephone number, and email address of the nominee, as well as a paper, electronic, or web document URL describing the work for which the student is being nominated. If you are nominating someone else, please include your own contact information as well. Nominations should be sent to:

2000 Distinguished Student Award
Foresight Institute
PO Box 61058
Palo Alto, CA 94306 USA
Voice: 650-917-1122
Fax: 650-917-1123
Email: [email protected]
Web: http://www.foresight.org

Email is strongly preferred for all entries. Any enclosures should be in the form of ASCII text, a Microsoft Word document, PDF, or simply a URL to a Web page.

The winner will be selected by October 6, to allow time to make arrangements to attend the 2000 Conference.

The award, provided this year through the generosity of entrepreneur Jim Von Ehr of Zyvex LLC., and Ravi Pandya of IECommerce Inc., is intended primarily to enable the winning student to attend Foresight Institute’s Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology, which is held annually to bring together leaders in nanotechnology research.

The Eighth Foresight Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology is scheduled for November 3-5, 2000, in Bethesda, Maryland. The keynote speaker will be Raymond Kurzweil, Kurzweil Technologies, Inc., winner of the 1999 National Medal of Technology Award.

Distinguished Student Award Established in 1997

The Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award was established in 1997 and institutionalizes the first grant made in 1996 by Foresight to John M. Michelsen, a University of California at Irvine chemistry student. Michelsen’s work, “Atomically Precise, 3D Organic Nanofabrication: Reactive Lattice Subunit Design for Inverse AFM/STM Positioning,” is described on the World Wide Web at http://www.zyvex.com/Papers/JohnM/Page1.html.

Nanotechnology is an emerging technology based on the ability to assemble individual molecules and atoms into precise structures. Its realization will allow the construction of supercomputers the size of a sugar cube, pollution-free manufacturing, super-strength materials, and molecular-scale robots capable of repairing damage in individual human cells. More than one billion such nanorobots could fit inside a single drop of blood.

Foresight Institute is a not-for-profit corporation whose goal is to guide emerging technologies to improve the human condition. Foresight focuses its efforts upon nanotechnology and upon systems that will enhance knowledge exchange and critical discussion, thus improving public and private policy decisions.