Richard P. Feynman


2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize

Nominations due July 31, 2003

Winners of the 2003 Feynman Prizes in Nanotechnology

The Foresight Institute Feynman Prizes are given in two categories, one for experimental and the other for theoretical advances in nanotechnology. Drs. Marvin L. Cohen and Steven G. Louie of the University of California at Berkeley, Department of Physics, received the theoretical prize for their contributions to the understanding of the behavior of materials. Their models of the molecular and electronic structures of new materials predict and understand properties like structure, surface conditions, and interactions with other materials. Many of these predictions have later been confirmed experimentally.

The Foresight Institute Feynman Prize for experimental work was awarded to Dr. Carlo Montemagno of the University of California, Los Angeles, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, for his pioneering research into methods of integrating single molecule biological motors with nano-scale silicon devices, which opens up new possibilities for nanomachines. The controlled movement of nano-scale and molecular parts are fundamental to the development of molecular machines.

The Feynman Prize awards were covered by Small Times and Nanotechnology Now. A UCLA press release announced the award of the Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Experimental) to Carlo Montemagno, UCLA professor and chair of bioengineering.

2003 Finalists

The following five individuals or teams were selected as Finalists for the 2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory):

The following five individuals were selected as Finalists for the 2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Experimental):

2003 Foresight Institute Feynman Prize for Theoretical and Experimental Molecular Nanotechnology

Two prizes in the amount of $5,000 each will be awarded to the researchers whose recent work has most advanced the development of molecular nanotechnology. This year again separate prizes will be awarded for theoretical work and for experimental work. The prizes will be given at the 11th Foresight Conference on Molecular Nanotechnology, to be held October 10-12, 2003, at the San Francisco Airport Marriott in Burlingame, California.

This prize is in honor of Richard P. Feynman who, in 1959, gave a visionary talk at Caltech in which he said “The problems of chemistry and biology can be greatly helped if our ability to see what we are doing, and to do things on an atomic level, is ultimately developed—a development which I think cannot be avoided.”

Relevant Research Areas

Research areas considered relevant to molecular nanotechnology and molecular manufacturing include but are not limited to:

  • supramolecular chemistry
  • mechanosynthesis
  • molecular machines
  • scanning probes
  • biomolecular machinery
  • computational chemistry
  • nanomaterials
  • nanotubes
  • self-assembly

Special consideration will be given to submissions clearly leading toward the construction of a general-purpose molecular assembler. Applicants wishing further information on the field of the prize are referred to the book Nanosystems: Molecular Machinery, Manufacturing, and Computation (Wiley Interscience, 1992).

Selection Committee for the 2003 Prize

A committee of previous Foresight Institute Feynman Prize winners was asked to select this year’s honorees:

Previous Feynman Prize winners

Distinctions between the annually awarded Feynman Prizes and the Feynman Grand Prize

Feynman Prizes
Experimental $5000 Presented for the best
work published in
recent years.
Theoretical $5000
Grand Prize
$250,000 Presented for demonstration
of 50 nanometer 8 bit adder
and 100 nanometer robot arm.

The Foresight Institute Feynman Prize 2003 will be the most recent in a series of annually awarded prizes for accomplishment in molecular nanotechnology. Both the annual Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology and the Feynman Grand Prize are sponsored by the Foresight Institute to encourage and accelerate the development of molecular nanotechnology. Both are named in honor of Nobel laureate physicist Richard Feynman. However, these prizes differ in focus, frequency of award, and scale.

The 2003 and other annual Prizes (originally designated the Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology) recognize recent achievements that contribute to the development of nanotechnology. The nature of the achievement is not specified in advance, and the judges choose from among the entries submitted which one most advanced the field during the preceding several years. In contrast, the Grand Prize will be awarded at some undetermined date in the future when someone builds two specified working devices, an accomplishment that will signal a crucial milestone on the road to a mature molecular manufacturing technology.

The annual Prize was awarded in 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, and now in 2003. It will be awarded every year until the Grand Prize is awarded, at which point the series of annual Prizes will be finished.

The first annual Prize was $5000, the second was $10,000, and since the third the annual Prize has consisted of two prizes of $5,000 each, awarded for separate accomplishments in theoretical and in experimental areas. The Grand Prize will be at least $250,000.

Submission or Nomination Procedures

Either submit your own work or nominate a colleague who deserves this prize.

Nominations must state which Prize is being applied for (Experimental or Theoretical) and include at least one of the following:

  • URL of bio, CV, and/or research group
  • List of up to five most relevant publications
  • URLs for, or copies of, up to five most relevant publications (pdf, html, or paper)
  • Statement of up to 400 words describing the work and its relevance to the goal of molecular nanotechnology and/or molecular manufacturing. [If the work has multiple authors, the nominee’s role must be stated.]

Foresight requests that materials be sent by email, with URLs, whenever possible.

Submissions should be mailed to the Foresight Institute at the postal address below, or emailed to [email protected], to arrive by July 31, 2003. The summary must include the applicant’s address, telephone, and (if possible) fax number and email address. In the case of nominations, contact information should be included for both nominator and nominee. Finalists may be contacted for additional information.

Individual submissions are preferred, but teams of up to three will be considered. Team members may not be changed after the submission deadline.

The prizewinner (minimum of one person per team) must accept in person at the Feynman Awards Banquet at the conference. The prizewinner (or one member of each winning team) will receive complimentary full registration including tutorial and banquet, coach airfare and up to 3 nights hotel (arranged by Foresight Institute, Sat. night stay required), and the physical award.

For further information, contact the Foresight Institute