2007 Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award

for the college undergraduate or graduate student
whose work in nanotechnology is deemed most notable

Submissions/nominations were due August 22, 2007

Winner of 2007 Award Announced

James Von Ehr, Robert A. Freitas Jr., Fung Suong Ou, and Pearl Chin
James Von Ehr, Founder, Zyvex Group; Robert A. Freitas Jr. of the Institute for Molecular Manufacturing, winner of the Prize in Communication; Fung Suong Ou, a Ph.D. candidate now at Rice University, winner of the Distinguished Student Award; Pearl Chin, President of Foresight Nanotech Institute

The winner of this year’s award was announced at the Feynman Prize Luncheon on October 9, 2007 at the Productive Nanosystems Conference. A Rice University graduate student, Fung-Suong Ou, received the Distinguished Student Prize.

Fung Suong Ou is a Ph.D. candidate now at Rice University who has demonstrated that it is possible to use a combinatorial approach to build nanowires from dissimilar components. Specifically, he has fabricated multi-segmented one-dimensional hybrid structures composed of carbon nanotubes and metal nanowires.

Relevant Research Areas

Research areas considered relevant to molecular nanotechnology and molecular manufacturing include but are not limited to:

  • biomolecular machinery
  • computational chemistry
  • supramolecular chemistry
  • mechanosynthesis
  • molecular machines
  • scanning probes
  • nanomaterials
  • self-assembly

Special consideration will be given to submissions clearly leading toward the construction of a general-purpose molecular assembler. Applicants wishing further information on the field of the prize are referred to the book Nanosystems: Molecular Machinery, Manufacturing, and Computation (Wiley Interscience, 1992).

Distinguished Student Award Established in 1997

The Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award was established in 1997 and institutionalizes the first grant made in 1996 by Foresight to John M. Michelsen, a University of California at Irvine chemistry student.

Previously awarded Distinguished Student Awards