2007 Foresight Institute Prize in Communication

for excellence in educating the public and R&D community on emerging technologies

Submissions/nominations were due June 30, 2007

Winner of 2007 Prize Announced

James Von Ehr, Robert A. Freitas Jr., Fung Suong Ou, and Pearl Chin
James Von Ehr, Founder, Zyvex Group; Robert A. Freitas Jr. of the Institute for Molecular Manufacturing, winner of the Prize in Communication; Fung Suong Ou, a Ph.D. candidate now at Rice University, winner of the Distinguished Student Award; Pearl Chin, President of Foresight Nanotech Institute

The winner of this year’s prize was announced at the Feynman Prize Luncheon on October 9, 2007 at the Productive Nanosystems Conference. The 2007 Foresight Prize in Communication was presented to nanotechnology author and theorist Robert A Freitas Jr.

The 2007 Communication prizewinner — Robert A. Freitas Jr., a Senior Research Fellow at the Institute for Molecular Manufacturing — is best known for Nanomedicine, the definitive book on the medical applications of molecular nanotechnology and available in its entirety at www.nanomedicine.com; and Kinematic Self-Replicating Machines, the foundational description of system architectures for molecular nanotechnology, available at www.molecularassembler.com. With almost 100 technical papers, book chapters, or popular articles he is one of the most prolific authors in the field of molecular nanotechnology.

About the Prize

This award recognizes outstanding journalistic or other communication endeavors that lead to a better public understanding of molecular nanotechnology or other key emerging technologies of high social or environmental impact.

By offering this Prize, Foresight hopes to encourage continued responsible coverage of molecular nanotechnology and other emerging technologies as a means for engaging the public in dialogue leading to improved public policy on these important issues.

Special thanks go to the law firm of Millstein & Taylor, PC, which underwrites the Prize, and to Foresight Senior Associate Larry Millstein of that firm, who initiated this program.

Previously awarded Communication Awards