Nanotechnology Prizes and Awards
Sponsored by Foresight Nanotech Institute

Foresight Institute sponsors prizes for work leading to molecular nanotechnology:

Foresight Institute Feynman Prize

Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Theory) is awarded for excellence in theory to the researchers whose recent work has most advanced the achievement of Feynman’s goal for nanotechnology: molecular manufacturing, defined as the construction of atomically-precise products through the use of molecular machine systems.

Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (Experimental) is awarded for excellence in experiment to the researchers whose recent work has most advanced the achievement of Feynman’s goal for nanotechnology: molecular manufacturing, defined as the construction of atomically-precise products through the use of molecular machine systems.

Feynman Prize Winners

2019 Theoretical: Prof. Giulia Galli (Argonne National Laboratory, Galli Group in the Pritzker Schoo of Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago, IL)
2019 Experimental: Prof. Lulu Qian, (Qian Lab, Division of Biology and Biological Engineering, California Institute of Technology, CA)

2018 Theoretical: Prof. Anatole von Lilienfeld (Institute of Physical Chemistry and National Center for Computational Design and Discovery of Novel Materials, University of Basel)
2018 Experimental: Andreas Heinrich (Institute for Basic Science Center for Quantum Nanoscience, Ewha Womans University), Christopher Lutz (IBM Research)

2017 Theoretical: Giovanni Zocchi (Professor of Physics & Astronomy, University of California Los Angeles)
2017 Experimental: William M Shih (Professor, Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School; Professor, Department of Cancer Biology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Founding Core Faculty, Wyss Institute at Harvard University)

2016 Theoretical: Bartosz A. Grzybowski (Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Bioengineering in the Department of Chemistry at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Korea)
2016 Experimental: Franz J. Giessibl (Chair of the Institute of Experimental and Applied Physics in the Department of Physics, University of Regensburg, Germany)

2015 Theoretical: Markus J. Buehler (Department Head and McAfee Professor of Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
2015 Experimental: Michelle Y. Simmons FAA (Australian Research Council (ARC) Laureate Fellow & Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Quantum Computation and Communications Technology, The University of New South Wales)

2014 Theoretical: Amanda S. Barnard (Australia’s Office of the Chief Executive (OCE), The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO))
2014 Experimental: Joseph W. Lyding (University of Illinois and Beckman Institute)

2013 Experimental: Alexander K. Zettl (U.C. Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
2013 Theoretical: David N. Beratan (Duke University)

2012 Experimental: is the team of Gerhard Meyer, Leo Gross, and Jascha Repp (IBM Research in Zurich; Dr. Repp is now at Regensburg University)
2012 Theoretical: David Soloveichik (University of California, San Francisco)

2011 Experimental: Leonhard Grill (Fritz Haber Institute, Max Planck Research School, Germany)
2011 Theoretical: Raymond Astumian (University of Maine, USA)

2010 Experimental: Masakazu Aono (MANA Center, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
2010 Theoretical: Gustavo E. Scuseria (Rice University)

2009 Experimental: Yoshiaki Sugimoto, Masayuki Abe (Osaka University), and Oscar Custance (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
2009 Theoretical: Robert A. Freitas Jr. (Institute for Molecular Manufacturing)

2008 Experimental: James M. Tour (Rice University)
2008 Theoretical: George C. Schatz (Northwestern University)

2007 Theoretical: David A. Leigh (University of Edinburgh)
2007 Experimental: J. Fraser Stoddart (University of California – Los Angeles)

2006 Theoretical: Erik Winfree and Paul W.K. Rothemund (California Institute of Technology)
2006 Experimental: Erik Winfree and Paul W.K. Rothemund (California Institute of Technology)

2005 Theoretical: Christian Joachim (Center Nationale de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
2005 Experimental: Christian Schafmeister (University of Pittsburgh)

2004 Theoretical: David Baker (University of Washington) and Brian Kuhlman (University of North Carolina)
2004 Experimental: Homme Hellinga (Duke University)

2003 Theoretical: Marvin L. Cohen and Steven G. Louie (University of California at Berkeley)
2003 Experimental: Carlo Montemagno (University of California at Los Angeles)

2002 Theoretical: Don Brenner (North Carolina State University)
2002 Experimental: Chad Mirkin (Northwestern University)

2001 Theoretical: Mark A. Ratner (Northwestern University)
2001 Experimental: Charles M. Lieber (Harvard University)

2000 Experimental: R. Stanley Williams (HP Labs), Philip Kuekes (HP Labs) and James Heath (UCLA)
2000 Theoretical: Uzi Landman (Georgia Tech)

1999 Experimental: Phaedon Avouris (IBM)
1999 Theoretical: William A. Goddard III, Dr. Tahir Cagin, and Ms. Yue Qi, (Caltech)

1998 Experimental: M. Reza Ghadiri (Scripps Research Institute)
1998 Theoretical: Ralph C. Merkle (Zyvex, LLC), Stephen Walch (ELORET NASA Ames)

1997 Experimental: James K. Gimzewski (IBM Zurich Research Laboratory), Reto Schlittler (IBM), Christian Joachim (CEMES-CNRS)
1997 Theoretical: NASA Ames, MRJ Team—Charles Bauschlicher, Stephen Barnard, Creon Levit, Glenn Deardorff, Al Globus, Jie Han, Richard Jaffe, Alessandra Ricca, Marzio Rosi, Deepak Srivastava, H. Thuemmel

1995: Nadrian C. Seeman (New York University)

1993: Charles Musgrave (Caltech)

The Feynman Grand Prize

The Feynman Grand Prize For Major Advances In Molecular Nanotechnology was announced in 1996 (see Feynman Grand Prize announcement and article in Update 24). The Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology recognizes recent achievements that contribute to the development of nanotechnology; the Grand Prize will be awarded at some undetermined date in the future to recognize a crucial milestone on the road to a mature molecular manufacturing technology. Further details.

Distinguished Student Award

The Foresight Institute Distinguished Student Award recognizes the College graduate or undergraduate student whose work is considered most notable In advancing the development and understanding of nanotechnology.

Distinguished Student Award Winners

2019: Yuxing Yao
2018: Qi Li
2017: Hai Qian
2016: Conrad Pfeiffer
2015: Chuyang Cheng
2013: Jonathan C. Barnes
2012: David Walker
2007: Fung Suong Ou
2006: Berhane Temelso
2005: Christopher Levins
2004: Damian Allis
2003: Ahmet Yildiz
2002: Yi Cui
2001: Jing Kong
2000: Christopher Love
1999: Anita Goel
1998: Fotis Nifiatis
1997: Phil Collins

Foresight Prize in Communication

This Foresight Institute Prize in Communication recognizes outstanding journalistic or other communication endeavors that lead to a better public understanding of advanced nanotechnology. By offering this Prize, Foresight hopes to encourage continued responsible coverage of nanotechnology as a means for engaging the public in dialogue leading to improved public policy on these important issues.

Prize in Communication Winners

2007: Robert A. Freitas Jr.
2006: John Storrs Hall
2005: Rocky Rawstern
2004: Howard Lovy
2003: Tim Harper and Paul Holister
2002: David Pescovitz
2001: Ivan Abel Amato
2000: Ron Dagani

Foresight Government Prize

The Foresight Institute Government Prize, was awarded for the first time at the 2005 13th Foresight Conference on Advanced Nanotechnology. It is presented periodically to the government official whose work has done the most to further the responsible and beneficial development of advanced nanotechnology.

Government Prize Winner

2005: Congressman Mike Honda (D-California)