Foresight Nanotech Institute Logo

« Go Back

You are viewing
Foresight Archives

Image of nano
Home > Resources > Roadmaps

Technology Roadmap for Productive Nanosystems

Roadmap cover imagePress Release: "From Here to There: Nanotechnology Roadmap — Foresight Nanotech Institute and Battelle Unveil a Technology Roadmap for Productive Nanosystems"

What Industry Experts are Saying

"The Technology Roadmap for Productive Nanosystems charts a path beginning with current nanotechnology capabilities to advanced systems. The Roadmap is a first attempt to lay out a step-by-step course of development that must take place to move from one stage to another, with milestones for achieving each step. With the support and collaboration of our partners, The Waitt Family Foundation and Battelle, we identify the gap between the basic nanostructured materials of today, and the potential of productive nanosystems."
—Foresight Nanotech Institute

About The Waitt Family Foundation - Helping Good People do Great Things

Waitt Family Foundation logo

The Waitt Family Foundation was established by Gateway Founder Ted Waitt in 1993 and is headquartered in La Jolla, California. The Foundation is affiliated with three institutes formed by Waitt, including the Institute for Historical Discovery, the Institute for Violence Prevention, and the Institute for Scientific Breakthroughs. The Foundation is led by its President, John Heubusch. For more information about The Waitt Family Foundation and its related institutes:

About Battelle

Battelle logo

Battelle is a global leader in science and technology. Headquartered in Columbus, Ohio, it develops and commercializes technology and manages laboratories for customers. Battelle, with the national labs it manages or co-manages, oversees 19,000 staff members and conducts $3 billion in annual research and development. Battelle innovations include the development of the office copier machine (Xerox), pioneering work on compact disc technology, medical technology advancements, and fiber optic technologies. For more information about Battelle:

Roadmap Steering Committee Members

Paul AlivisatosPaul Alivisatos, Chancellor's Professor of Chemistry and Materials Science, UC Berkeley, and Director, Materials Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Alex KawczakAlex Kawczak, Vice President, BioProducts and Nanostructured Materials, Battelle

Pearl ChinPearl Chin, Research Fellow, Foresight Nanotech Institute

Charles M. LieberCharles M. Lieber, Professor, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Division of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University

K. Eric DrexlerK. Eric Drexler, Chief Technical Advisor, Nanorex

Christine PetersonChristine Peterson, Vice President, Foresight Nanotech Institute

Mauro FerrariMauro Ferrari, University of Texas-Houston Institute of Molecular Medicine - NanoMedicine

John RandallJohn Randall, Chief Technology Officer, Zyvex

Doon GibbsDoon Gibbs, Deputy Director for Science and Technology, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Jim RobertoJim Roberto, Chief Research Officer and Deputy Laboratory Director, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

William A. Goddard, IIIWilliam A. Goddard, III, Professor of Chemistry and Applied Physics, California Institute of Technology and Director, Materials and Process Simulation Center

Nadrian C. SeemanNadrian C. Seeman, Professor of Chemistry, New York University and President, International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering

William A. HaseltineWilliam A. Haseltine, President, William A. Haseltine Foundation for Medical Sciences and the Arts

Nadrian C. SeemanRick Snyder, CEO of Ardesta, Chairman of Gateway

Steve JurvetsonSteve Jurvetson, Managing Director, Draper Fisher Jurvetson

J. Fraser StoddartJ. Fraser Stoddart, Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry, Northwestern University


Ted WaittTed Waitt, Chairman of Avalon Capital Group and the Waitt Family Foundation

Working Group Members

For a complete list of researchers who contributed material or attended Working Group sessions, see the Working Group page.

Roadmap Partners

Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO), the leading biotechnology industry group Nano Science and Technology Institute (NSTI), the leading organization for the development and integration of nanotechnology

Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), the leading power industry research organization

SEMI, the leading global industry association for equipment, materials and service companies enabling micro- and nano-scale manufacturing

NanoBusiness Alliance (NBA), the leading nanotechnology business association

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), the world's leading professional society supporting manufacturing education

SPIE, an international society advancing an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light.


Other Participants

Project Management

  • Alex Kawczak, Battelle Memorial Institute
  • K. Eric Drexler, Nanorex
  • John Randall, Zyvex Labs
  • James Von Ehr, Zyvex Labs
  • Pearl Chin, Foresight Nanotech Institute
  • Christine Peterson, Foresight Nanotech Institute


  • K. Eric Drexler, Nanorex
  • John Randall, Zyvex Labs
  • Stephanie Corchnoy, Synchrona
  • Jeffrey Soreff, IBM
  • Damian Allis, Syracuse University
  • James Von Ehr, Zyvex Labs
  • Alex Kawczak, Battelle Memorial Institute
  • Michael L. Steve, Battelle Memorial Institute

Front Cover Design

  • Katharine Green, Zyvex Labs